October 9, 2011

Minnesota Lynx win the 2011 WNBA Championship

It was the perfect season for the WNBA's Minnesota Lynx, who started the year by getting the first pick in the WNBA draft, and ended it with a sweep of the Atlanta Dream to win their first ever WNBA Championship.

The Lynx sweeped the Dream 3-0 in the WNBA Finals - they celebrated the championship with a 73-67 Game 3 victory on Friday, October 7th. Finals MVP Seimone Augustus scored 16 points in the finale. The Lynx' first pick in the draft, Maya Moore, also contributed heavily to the championship. Moore was named the Rookie of the Year.

With Moore bolstering their lineup, The Lynx were the best team in the WNBA all season, ending the year with a league-best 27-7 record and finishing at the top of the Western Conference. Lynx went 7-1 in their three playoff series' to hoist the championship.

The 2011 WNBA season, the 15th season in league history, lasted four months, from June 3rd - October 7th. Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever won the league MVP award, but she couldn't get her team past the Atlanta Dream in the Eastern Conference Finals. The Lynx beat the Phoenix Mercury in the Western Conference Finals.

No comments:

Post a Comment