May 8, 2018

2018 Junior National Basketball Championship tips off in Ludhiana, Punjab

They are on the cusp of greatness, one more level away from entering the biggest stage. These are the India's best Junior (under-18) basketball players, and for a week-long festival of hoops at the famous grounds of the Guru Nanak Stadium in Ludhiana, Punjab, they will feature among their competitors from around the nation in the 69th Junior National Basketball Championship for Men and Women.

Organised by the Punjab Basketball Association (PBA) under the aegis of the Basketball Federation of India (BFI), the 'Junior Nationals' tipped off in Ludhiana on Monday, May 7. 28 Men's teams and 24 Women's teams are scheduled to participate in the tournament.

The Men's team for hosts Punjab will probably start the tournament as favourites, featuring a number of exciting young players, a passionate home fan-base offering them support, and the experience of being reigning champs after winning the same tournament in Greater Noida last year. Last year's medallists Kerala and Rajasthan will hope to do one better and challenge the hosts for the title. In the Women's division, 2017 winners Tamil Nadu will hope to continue their positive run, facing contenders like the improving Uttar Pradesh side and the always dangerous squad from Kerala.

The Junior Nationals began under a dark cloud, however. On his way to the tournament with his Chhattisgarh state team, India's most-decorated basketball coach Rajesh Patel died of a cardiac arrest. Patel has had a dominant record with Chhattisgarh's Women's team in the Junior Nationals and his presence will be missed on the sidelines.

Participating Teams

  • Group A: Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Haryana, Chandigarh, Uttar Pradesh
  • Group B: Kerala, Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh
  • Group C: Telangana, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Puducherry, Tripura
  • Group D: Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Uttarakhand
  • Group E: Gujarat, Assam, Jharkhand, Nagaland
  • Group F: West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Mizoram

  • Group A: Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat
  • Group B: Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Punjab, Maharashtra, Rajasthan
  • Group C: Delhi, Goa, Himachal Pradesh
  • Group D: Haryana, Bihar, Jharkhand
  • Group E: Chandigarh, Assam, Puducherry, West Bengal
  • Group F: Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Uttarakhand

Punjab dominated the first day of action. The men's squad defeated Uttar Pradesh in a 107-49 washout led by rising young star Princepal Singh (32). The women defeated Rajasthan 74-56 despite 27 points by Ishika of the Rajasthani squad. Tamil Nadu Wome got their title defence to a good start with a 71-46 win over Gujarat. Kerala's Men's squad won a high-scoring matchup against Madhya Pradesh 103-86 led by Shanazil (25) and Chacko (22), overcoming MP's Udayveer who had a game-high 34 in the loss.

1 comment:

  1. วันนี้จะมาแนะนำ ทดลองเล่นสล็อต megagame กับเว็บไซต์เราได้เเล้ววันนี้ที่ MEGA GAME ทุกท่านจะพบ กับเกมสล็อตออนไลน์ รูปแบบใหม่มีมากกว่า 1000 เกมที่เราได้คัดสรรมาให้นักเสี่ยงโชค