June 8, 2011

24th FIBA Asia Championship for Women: India’s Group & Schedule

The schedule of games for the Preliminary Round of the 24th FIBA Asia Championship for Women has been announced. The championship will be taking place in Omura and Nagasaki in Japan from August 21-28th, 2011.

Indian Senior Women’s team have been placed in Level I, along with champions China, hosts Japan, Korea, Chinese Taipei, and Lebanon. In Level II, the teams are Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, and Singapore.

Hosts Japan will take on newly promoted Lebanon on the first day of the competition on Aug 21 with defending champions China taking on last edition’s runners-up and archrivals Korea. Chinese Taipei meet India to complete the day once proceedings.

India’s Preliminary Round Schedule

  • 21st Aug, 2011 (Sunday): India vs. Chinese Taipei
  • 22nd Aug, 2011 (Monday): India vs. Korea
  • 23rd Aug, 2011 (Tuesday): India vs. China
  • 24th Aug, 2011 (Wednesday): India vs. Japan
  • 25th Aug, 2011 (Thursday): India vs. Lebanon

    The Semi-Finals of the tournament will be held on 27th Aug, 2011 (Saturday), and the Finals on 28th Aug, 2011 (Sunday). Click here for Complete Preliminary Round Schedule.

    About 24th FIBA Asia Championship for Women

    Omura, a castle town from where Catholic saint St. Marina de Omura hailed will play host to the 12 top women basketball teams in Asia from Aug 21-28, 2011. Six teams will form the Elite Level I, from where the champions will be decided.

    The champions of the 24th FIBA Asia Championship for Women will earn an automatic entry to the 2012 London Olympics. The teams finishing second and third will earn the opportunity to represent FIBA Asia in the FIBA Olympic Qualifiers.

    Six other teams will play in the Qualifying Level II with the top two attempting to earn promotion to next edition’s Level I.

    India were the hosts of previous FIBA Asia Championship for Women, which was held in 2009 in Chennai and won by China.
  • No comments:

    Post a Comment