July 18, 2011

India Women’s Squad for 2011 William Jones Basketball Tournament in Chinese Taipei

The roster of 12 women who will represent India at The 33rd William Jones International Basketball Tournament, which will be held in Chinese Taipei, has been released by Women’s coach Pete Gaudet and the Basketball Federation of India (BFI). The Women’s tournament, in which India is participating, will be held at the Taipei Gymnasium from July 31 – August 4.

Gaudet, who has been in training with the women’s probables at the Indira Gandhi Stadium in New Delhi for the past month will get a chance to see his team play their first competitive games under him at this international competition.

Indian team for William Jones Basketball Tournament

  • Prashanti Singh
  • Geethu Anna Jose
  • P. Anitha
  • Akanksha Singh
  • Raspreet Sidhu
  • M. Pushpa
  • Shireen Limaye
  • S. Kokila
  • Harjeet Kaur
  • Bharti Netam
  • Smruthi RK
  • Kruthika Lakshman

    Head Coach: Pete Gaudet

    Sonika Ohlyan and Asha Hegde have been selected as stand-by.

    The William Jones Cup is an international basketball tournament held annually in Taipei, Taiwan. It was named after Renato William Jones, a basketball promoter and one of the founders of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA).

    India will play in the round-robin tournament with the four other women’s teams who have confirmed participation in this year’s tournament: Japan, China, Korea, and Taiwan World University Games (WUG) team.


    July 31
    16:00 Taiwan WUG-India
    18:00 Opening ceremony
    18:30 China-Japan

    Aug. 1
    17:00 Korea-Taiwan WUG
    19:00 India-China

    Aug. 2
    17:00 Taiwan WUG-Japan
    19:00 Korea-India

    Aug. 3
    17:00 Japan-Korea
    19:00 China-Taiwan WUG

    Aug. 4
    17:00 India-Japan
    19:00 Korea-China
    21:00 Closing ceremony
  • No comments:

    Post a Comment