August 7, 2016

ONGC win 1st ever All India Basketball Tournament in Rohtak (Haryana)

New location, same excellence.

For the first time, an All India Basketball Tournament was brought to Haryana, as the city of Rohtak hosted a national-level Men's tournament from August 2-6. But even in this new space, the big dogs continued their same old tricks. Dehradun's ONGC, one of the most successful basketball units in India in recent history, were crowned champions of the tournament with a dominant win over Indian Railways in the Final on Saturday, August 7.

Eight Men's teams took part in the inaugural All India Basketball Tournament in Rohtak, which was organised by the Basketball Club of Haryana (BCH) under the aegis of the Haryana State Basketball Association and the Basketball Federation of India (BFI). The tournament was held at the Rajiv Gandhi Sports Complex in the city's Sector-6.

After a close first-quarter, ONGC blew open the dam in the second period led by India's national captain Amrit Pal Singh (18) and veteran guard Riyazuddin (35), who hit seven threes in the final. Leading 55-36 at halftime, ONGC continued their easy dominance in the second period, as international star Vishesh Bhriguvanshi also chipped in 24 points. ONGC closed the game out in style with a 90-62 victory. Himanshu scored a team-high 16 for Indian Railways.

ONGC's Amrit Pal Singh was named tournament's MVP and was awarded a cash prize of INR 5100. The winning team ONGC received INR 1,00,000/- and a trophy while runners up Indian Railway got INR 50,000/-. Additionally, every man of the match throughout the tournament received INR 2100/- and trophies.

Devender Kalyan, Commissioner-Income Tax (Gurugram) was the chief guest of the occasion. Krishan Hooda, Contractor (Haryana Urban Developmental Authority) was the guest of honour. Also present as guests were Pardeep Kumar, Additional Deputy Commissioner (Rohtak) and Prof Dalbir Singh Kharab, Secretary of Haryana State Basketball Association. Two past players hailing from Haryana, Arjuna Awardee Om Prakash Sr and Dhyan Chand Awardee Ram Kumar were felicitated.

Participating Teams in Rohtak 1st All India Basketball Tournament
  • Group A: ONGC, Income Tax, Indian Air Force, Haryana.
  • Group B: Indian Railways, Punjab, Indian Army, Basketball Club of Haryana (BCH).

No comments:

Post a Comment