October 20, 2014

IOB win first-ever Mulki Sunder Ram Shetty All India tournament in Bengaluru

From October 15-19, the city of Bengaluru hosted the inaugural Mulki Sunder Ram Shetty All India Basketball tournament, a men's championship that featured six of India's top club level or state teams. After five days of high-notch basketball, the tournament was settled with a comfortable final win by Indian Overseas Bank - IOB - against their Chennai city rivals ONGC on Sunday, October 19th at the Bharat Sports Union in Malleshwaram, Bengaluru.

After a neck-to-neck start to the final, IOB relied on the sharp-shooting abilities of India international Pratham Singh, who scored 25 points to help his team open up a double digit lead in the second half. IOB trailed in the first quarter, caught up before halftime, and then continued to ride their positive momentum en route to a 63-49 victory. The star-studded IOB squad, which also featured the likes of Amjyot Singh, Hareesh Koroth, Mihir Pandey, Aravind A., and Prasanna V., thus became the first claimants to the Mulki Sunder Ram Shetty winner's trophy.

Prasanna was named the tournament's MVP.

In a high-scoring encounter for third-place earlier on Sunday, host team Vijaya Bank relied on the efforts of Anil (26) and Arvind (24) to defeat the Karnataka State team 89-75. Visu led the way with 24 for Karnataka.

Only teams from three southern Indian states - Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, and Kerala - took part in the inaugural iteration of this tournament. The participating teams were: ONGC, Vijaya Bank, Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB), Tamil Nadu, IOB, Cochin Customs, Chennai Customs, and Kerala.

Final Standings
  • IOB
  • ONGC
  • Vijaya Bank
Check out the complete coverage on Ekalavyas.com for more from this tournament.

No comments:

Post a Comment